Let There Be Peace. . .

If I could choose to be a master of any skill in the world, which skill would I pick?
The answer lies in which aspect of me is answering. The mature altruistic me would, of course, choose “peacemaker” because this is a much needed skill in the world today and seemingly in short supply. As this Master Peacemaker I’d somehow have superhuman powers to create a new era of peace and wouldn’t the world be a better place if we could all just get along? I’d like to say this would be my choice anyway.

More likely I’d give in to the child me, who still dreams and tries to learn things that may not be possible for the real me. I can practically see the eager child restless stepping center stage and belting out a Koko Taylor song while accompanying on whichever musical instrument is at hand. Let’s face it, if you are going to have savant dreams, why think small. My skill choice would be music – ALL music.

This is a skill set but I think the skills you need to make, perform and even write music all draw from the same pool. I am assuming that possessing the mastery of the skill set also implies the talent needed to make it viable. Who wouldn’t want to be able to draw musically from the world: Reggae, Klezmer, Celtic, Rai, Bhamgra, Zydego, Bluegrass – an endless line of musical styles and cultures? Wherever you went you’d be able to converse musically there. After all, “Music has charms to sooth a savage breast,” or so they say. Okay, NOW my mature side is interested. Couldn’t a master musician with amazing skills across genres bring peace to hearts and minds? Perhaps peacemaker after all.

2 thoughts on “Let There Be Peace. . .

Leave a Reply

